But there is a gap (gasp!) in my collection. This summer, my daughter turns seven. And though I didn’t experience menarche until I was 13, there are some kids who enter puberty as early as eight years old. And god knows I don’t want Em to be blindsided by blood in her underwear or other bodily changes. And so, I recently did what any mildly obsessed mother would do: I went in search of the best puberty books for kids. Here’s what I found.

Best Puberty Books for Girls

Best Puberty Books for Boys

Best Puberty Books for Kids of All Genders

Godspeed, parents, and good luck to your kids, too. I promise…puberty isn’t the big bad you think it is.

The Best Puberty Books for Your Growing Kid - 96The Best Puberty Books for Your Growing Kid - 52The Best Puberty Books for Your Growing Kid - 82The Best Puberty Books for Your Growing Kid - 28The Best Puberty Books for Your Growing Kid - 77The Best Puberty Books for Your Growing Kid - 45The Best Puberty Books for Your Growing Kid - 6The Best Puberty Books for Your Growing Kid - 61